The Beekeeper s Handbook

The Beekeeper s Handbook Author Diana Sammataro
ISBN-10 9780801485039
Year 1998
Pages 190
Language en
Publisher Cornell University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Diana Sammataro and Alphonse Avitabile have revised and expanded their clear and comprehensive guide to cover changes in beekeeping. They discuss the crisis created by the parasitic bee mites. In less than a decade, for example, Varroa mites have saturated the North American honeybee population with disastrous results, devastating both managed and wild populations. The new edition of The Beekeeper's Handbook covers mite detection and control as well as the selection and testing of bees that may have some tolerance to mites.*Serves as a comprehensive well-illustrated introduction for beginners and a valuable reference for the experienced beekeeper.*Outlines options for each operation within beekeeping, listing advantages and disadvantages of each alternative.*Provides easy-to-follow directions and diagrams.*Includes glossary and updated bibliography suggesting more detailed information on the topics discussed.

ABC s of BeeKeeping Problems and Problem Beekeepers

ABC s of BeeKeeping Problems and Problem Beekeepers Author William Dullas
ISBN-10 0595634400
Year 2008-08-07
Pages 248
Language en
Publisher iUniverse
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

"Professor Einstein said that if the bees disappear, so do we! I'm so glad Bill Dullas is doing this book." Alan Cheney, Ph.D., Saba University School of Medicine, Dutch West Indies. "I tried to have well-trained police officers and deputies. Bill is paying attention to the training of beekeepers." Johannes F. Spreen, retired police commissioner of Detroit and sheriff of Oakland County, Michigan. "Honey's anti-bacterial qualities may make it valuable in treating microbes that have become resistant to antibiotics such as methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus-MRSA." Dr. Diane Holloway, formerly in practice at Presbyterian Hospital, Dallas, Texas. "This knowledge should help you in minimizing any significant impact that the Africanized bee could have on your daily life." Fire Chief Robert Biscoe, Fire District of Sun City West, Arizona. This well-illustrated text is perfect for beginning beekeepers, experienced beekeepers and their employees, entomology students, and the layman. It offers instructions and information for: Problems with helpers, animals, people, health, and disasters Working with beeswax, pollen, enzymes, and package bees Dealing with diseases, mites, colony collapse, and Africanized bees Robbing, extracting, bee removal, re-queening and queen rearing

The Beginner s Guide to Beekeeping

The Beginner s Guide to Beekeeping Author Daniel Johnson
ISBN-10 9780760344477
Year 2013-07-15
Pages 176
Language en
Publisher Voyageur Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

"The Beginner's Guide to Beekeeping is a fully illustrated, explicitly detailed resource for would-be rural and suburban beekeepers"--

Wisdom for Beekeepers

Wisdom for Beekeepers Author James E. Tew
ISBN-10 1621137619
Year 2013
Pages 288
Language en
Publisher Taunton Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

"This book is a collection of 500 beekeeping tips, illustrated throughout with specially commissioned linocut prints, is an ideal companion for newcomers to beekeeping and experienced beekeepers"--

Beekeeper s Lab

Beekeeper s Lab Author Kim Lehman
ISBN-10 9781631592683
Year 2017-05-01
Pages 144
Language en
Publisher
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Fill the year ahead with weekly activities from around and about the hive, including art projects, recipes, experiments, garden activities, and more! If you keep bees or are interested in keeping bees, Beekeeper's Lab is the book for you. Filled with 52 beekeeping and hive-inspired projects to keep you involved with your bees and hive all year long. The tutorials are brief, accomplishable, and rewarding. Try a new technique each week with how-tos and sidebars with tips that are perfect for including the whole family. Beekeeping a fun and educational for the whole family to enjoy and is a highly impressive skill to possess!

Beekeeping

Beekeeping Author Richard E. Bonney
ISBN-10 9781603421737
Year 2012-09-24
Pages 192
Language en
Publisher Storey Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Keep your own bees and enjoy delicious golden honey from your own backyard. With his respect and admiration for bees evident on every page, Richard E. Bonney describes how to acquire bees, manage a hive, prevent and treat diseases, and extract a crop of honey. Enthusiastic beekeepers of every stripe and experience level will benefit from Bonney’s astonishing knowledge of the craft — from beekeeping history and honeybee biology to the complex social structure of the hive.

Beekeeping For Dummies

Beekeeping For Dummies Author David Wiscombe
ISBN-10 9781119975687
Year 2011-09-20
Pages 358
Language en
Publisher John Wiley and Sons
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The fast and easy way to start and maintain a hive Beekeeping For Dummies is a practical, step-by-step beginner's guide to beekeeping. It gives you plain-English guidance on everything you need to know to start your own beehive, from buying the right equipment, sourcing bees, and locating your hive to maintaining a healthy colony and harvesting honey. Plus, you'll get the latest information on the causes and effects of bee disease, colony collapse disorder, and the impact the sudden disappearance of the honeybee has on our environment and economy. Here, you'll get trusted information on beekeeping in the UK, specifically written to address climate, buying equipment, locating hives, the local impact of colony collapse disorder and ways to avoid or minimise the risk to your hive, seasonal beekeeping tasks, local beekeeping associations, and updated content on urban beekeeping. Understand the anatomy of your bees Learn techniques and tips for harvesting, bottling, packaging, and selling honey Discover the benefits of beekeeping Learn techniques on obtaining and hiving your bees If you're a beginner beekeeper, taking a beekeeping course, or just have an interest in the plight of the honeybee, Beekeeping For Dummies has you covered!

The Beekeeper s Lament

The Beekeeper s Lament Author Hannah Nordhaus
ISBN-10 0062079425
Year 2011-05-24
Pages 288
Language en
Publisher Harper Collins
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

“You’llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again.” —Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of Lobsters Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America’s foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire,and John McPhee’s Oranges, Nordhaus’s stunning exposé illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today,offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

The Beekeeping Handbook

The Beekeeping Handbook Author Vivian Head
ISBN-10 1565236815
Year 2012
Pages 160
Language en
Publisher Fox Chapel Publishing Company Incorporated
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A guide to beekeeping offers advice on getting started with the hobby, providing a history of bees and beekeeping and discussing how to buy colonies, keep records, manage a hive, and take care of stings.

Better Beekeeping

Better Beekeeping Author Kim Flottum
ISBN-10 9781610602228
Year 2011-08-01
Pages 176
Language en
Publisher Quarry Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Backyard beekeepers everywhere agree, a successful colony is a thing of beauty. Thousands of beekeepers have started beekeeping thanks to Kim Flottum's first book, The Backyard Beekeeper, and they have added to their repertoire of skills with The Backyard Beekeeper's Honey Handbook. Now, Better Beekeeping answers the question, "What do I do now that I'm a beekeeper?" The essential theme is simple: If you produce the right number of bees of the right age at the right time in the right place in the right condition you will be successful. To accomplish this requires making intelligent decisions in the beeyard, sound planning, tuning into nature, and balancing biology and business savvy. There are not a lot of how-to instructions hidden within this, but there's a lot of real-world study, smart, intuitive thinking, and setting of goals.

Homegrown Honey Bees

Homegrown Honey Bees Author Alethea Morrison
ISBN-10 9781603428811
Year 2013-02-15
Pages 160
Language en
Publisher Storey Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Discover the joys of harvesting honey from your own backyard. Alethea Morrison outlines what you’ll need to know to make it through the first year, while stunning macrophotography by Mars Vilaubi brings the inner workings of the hive to life. With in-depth discussions of allergies, colony hierarchy, bee behavior, and more, this approachably informative guide bursts with enthusiastic encouragement. Keep your own bees, and enjoy the sweet buzz.

Vanishing Bees

Vanishing Bees Author Sainath Suryanarayanan
ISBN-10 9780813574615
Year 2016-11-29
Pages 160
Language en
Publisher Rutgers University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In 2005, beekeepers in the United States began observing a mysterious and disturbing phenomenon: once-healthy colonies of bees were suddenly collapsing, leaving behind empty hives full of honey and pollen. Over the following decade, widespread honeybee deaths—some of which have come to be called Colony Collapse Disorder (CCD)—have continued to bedevil beekeepers and threaten the agricultural industries that rely on bees for pollination. Scientists continue to debate the causes of CCD, yet there is no clear consensus on how to best solve the problem. Vanishing Bees takes us inside the debates over widespread honeybee deaths, introducing the various groups with a stake in solving the mystery of CCD, including beekeepers, entomologists, growers, agrichemical companies, and government regulators. Drawing from extensive interviews and first-hand observations, Sainath Suryanarayanan and Daniel Lee Kleinman examine how members of each group have acquired, disseminated, and evaluated knowledge about CCD. In addition, they explore the often-contentious interactions among different groups, detailing how they assert authority, gain trust, and build alliances. As it explores the contours of the CCD crisis, Vanishing Bees considers an equally urgent question: what happens when farmers, scientists, beekeepers, corporations, and federal agencies approach the problem from different vantage points and cannot see eye-to-eye? The answer may have profound consequences for every person who wants to keep fresh food on the table.