March Violets

March Violets Author Philip Kerr
ISBN-10 0241976014
Year 2015
Pages 272
Language en
Publisher
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Winter 1936. A man and his wife shot dead in their bed. The woman's father, a millionaire industrialist, wants justice-and the priceless diamonds that disappeared along with his daughter's life. As Bernie follows the trail into the very heart of Nazi Germany, he's forced to confront a horrifying conspiracy.

March Violets

March Violets Author Philip Kerr
ISBN-10 9781101575925
Year 2004-07-27
Pages 256
Language en
Publisher Penguin
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Hailed by Salman Rushdie as a “brilliantly innovative thriller-writer,” Philip Kerr is the creator of taut, gripping, noir-tinged mysteries that are nothing short of spellbinding. The first book of the Berlin Noir trilogy, March Violets introduces readers to Bernie Gunther, an ex-policeman who thought he’d seen everything on the streets of 1930s Berlin—until he turned freelance and each case he tackled sucked him further into the grisly excesses of Nazi subculture. Hard-hitting, fast-paced, and richly detailed, March Violets is noir writing at its blackest and best.

Berlin Noir

Berlin Noir Author Philip Kerr
ISBN-10 9781440657467
Year 1994-01-01
Pages 848
Language en
Publisher Penguin
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In BERLIN NOIR, Philip Kerr’s first three Bernie Gunther novels – MARCH VIOLETS, THE PALE CRIMINAL, A GERMAN REQUIEM -- are compiled in one volume, the perfect introduction to the “best crime series around today” (The Daily Beast). Ex-policeman Bernie Gunther thought he'd seen everything on the streets of 1930s Berlin. But then he went freelance, and each case he tackled sucked him further into the grisly excesses of Nazi subculture. And even after the war, amidst the decayed, imperial splendour of Vienna, Bernie uncovered a legacy that made the wartime atrocities look lily-white in comparison... From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Violets of March

The Violets of March Author Sarah Jio
ISBN-10 1101514043
Year 2011-04-26
Pages 304
Language en
Publisher Penguin
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

From the New York Times bestselling author of Always and Blackberry Winter, a heartbroken woman stumbles upon a diary and steps into the life of its anonymous author. In her twenties, Emily Wilson was on top of the world: she had a bestselling novel, a husband plucked from the pages of GQ, and a one-way ticket to happily ever after. Ten years later, the tide has turned on Emily's good fortune. So when her great-aunt Bee invites her to spend the month of March on Bainbridge Island in Washington State, Emily accepts, longing to be healed by the sea. Researching her next book, Emily discovers a red velvet diary, dated 1943, whose contents reveal startling connections to her own life. A mesmerizing debut with an idyllic setting and intriguing dual story line, The Violets of March announces Sarah Jio as a writer to watch.

The Pale Criminal

The Pale Criminal Author Philip Kerr
ISBN-10 9781786480880
Year 2016-03-17
Pages 460
Language en
Publisher Hachette UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The second in Philip Kerr's internationally bestselling and acclaimed Bernie Gunther series of thrillers, available for the first time as an individual ebook. Five German schoolgirls are missing. Four have been found dead. But unlike the undesirables who make up the majority of dead and missing people in Hitler's Berlin, these girls were blonde and blue-eyed - the Aryan flower of German maidenhood - and their gruesome deaths recall ritual killings. Busy with a blackmail case, Bernie is reluctant when he is asked to rejoin the Berlin police in order to track down the murderer. But when the person doing the asking is none other than head of the SD, Reinhard Heydrich, it's not exactly a request he can turn down. As Bernie gets closer to the truth, he realises that at the heart of this case is much more than one lone madman - in fact, there is a conspiracy at work more chilling than he could ever have imagined.

The One from the Other

The One from the Other Author Philip Kerr
ISBN-10 144065767X
Year 2009-02-03
Pages 400
Language en
Publisher Penguin
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Philip Kerr’s Berlin Noir trilogy—featuring the tough, fast-talking, noirish detective Bernie Gunther—is a publishing phenomenon that continues to win new fans more than fifteen years after its initial publication. Kerr has brought Bernie back in a highly anticipated thriller that will delight fans of the original books and attract new attention to the backlist. It is 1949 and—after being forced to serve in the SS in the killing fields of Ukraine—Bernie has moved to Munich to reestablish himself as a private investigator. When the beautiful Frau Britta Warzok hires him for an apparently simple job, Bernie’s suspicions flare but the money is too good to turn down. Soon, Bernie is on the run, because in a defeated and divided Germany, it’s hard to know friends from enemies, the one from the other.

Shrinking Violets

Shrinking Violets Author Joe Moran
ISBN-10 9781782830672
Year 2016-08-25
Pages 179
Language en
Publisher Profile Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Our success as a species is built on sociability, so shyness in humans should be an anomaly. But it's actually remarkably common - we all know what it's like to cringe in embarrassment, stand tongue-tied at the fringe of an unfamiliar group, or flush with humiliation if we suddenly become the unwelcome centre of attention. In Shrinking Violets, Joe Moran explores the hidden world of shyness, providing insights on everything from timidity in lemon sharks to the role of texting in Finnish love affairs. As he seeks answers to the questions that shyness poses - Why are we shy? Can we overcome it? Does it define us? - he uncovers the fascinating stories of the men and women who were 'of the violet persuasion', from Charles Darwin to Agatha Christie, and from Tove Jansson to Nick Drake. In their stories - often both heart-breaking and inspiring - and through the myriad ways scientists and thinkers have tried to explain and cure shyness, Moran finds a hopeful conclusion. To be shy, he decides, is not simply a burden - it is also a gift, a different way of seeing the world that can be both enriching and inspiring.

Vixen

Vixen Author Rosie Garland
ISBN-10 9780007492817
Year 2014-07-17
Pages 416
Language en
Publisher HarperCollins UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Rosie Garland’s extraordinary tale is a story of superstition and devotion in the time of the Black Death and will bewitch both new readers and fans of her much-loved debut, The Palace of Curiosities.

The Night Brother

The Night Brother Author Rosie Garland
ISBN-10 9780008166120
Year 2017-06-01
Pages 384
Language en
Publisher HarperCollins UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern.

The Palace of Curiosities

The Palace of Curiosities Author Rosie Garland
ISBN-10 9780007492824
Year 2013-03-28
Pages 336
Language en
Publisher HarperCollins UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A luminous and bewitching debut novel that is perfect for fans of Angela Carter. Set in Victorian London, it follows the fortunes of Eve, the Lion-Faced Girl and Abel, the Flayed Man. A magical realism delight.

Prussian Blue

Prussian Blue Author Philip Kerr
ISBN-10 9781784296506
Year 2017-04-04
Pages 464
Language en
Publisher Hachette UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Bernie Gunther returns in the twelfth book in the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of John le Carre and Robert Harris. Lee Child calls Bernie Gunther 'one of the greatest anti-heroes ever written'. It's 1956 and Bernie Gunther is on the run. Ordered by Erich Mielke, deputy head of the East German Stasi, to murder Bernie's former lover by thallium poisoning, he finds his conscience is stronger than his desire not to be murdered in turn. Now he must stay one step ahead of Mielke's retribution. The man Mielke has sent to hunt him is an ex-Kripo colleague, and as Bernie pushes towards Germany he recalls their last case together. In 1939, Bernie was summoned by Reinhard Heydrich to the Berghof: Hitler's mountain home in Obersalzberg. A low-level German bureaucrat had been murdered, and the Reichstag deputy Martin Bormann, in charge of overseeing renovations to the Berghof, wants the case solved quickly. If the Fuhrer were ever to find out that his own house had been the scene of a recent murder - the consequences wouldn't bear thinking about. And so begins perhaps the strangest of Bernie Gunther's adventures, for although several countries and seventeen years separate the murder at the Berghof from his current predicament, Bernie will find there is some unfinished business awaiting him in Germany.