What Happens in Scotland

What Happens in Scotland Author Jennifer McQuiston
ISBN-10 9780062231253
Year 2013-02-26
Pages 384
Language en
Publisher Harper Collins
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Jennifer McQuiston’s debut historical romance, What Happens in Scotland, is a lively, romantic adventure about a wedding that neither the bride or the groom remembers. Lady Georgette Thorold has always been wary of marriage, so when she wakes up next to an attractive Scotsman with a wedding ring on her finger, it’s easy to understand why she panics and flees. Convinced that Georgette is a thief, her may-be husband, James McKenzie, searches for her. As both try to recall what happened that fateful night, they begin to realize that their attraction and desire for each other is undeniable. But is it enough? Fans of Sarah MacLean and Mary Balogh will enjoy this utterly charming historical romance from award-winning author Jennifer McQuiston that features unforgettable characters and a satisfying mix of adventure and passion.

Sinful Scottish Laird

Sinful Scottish Laird Author Julia London
ISBN-10 9781459294950
Year 2017-03-01
Pages 384
Language en
Publisher HQN Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A young widow puts her sexy suitors to the test in New York Times bestselling author Julia London's scintillating return to the idyllic Scottish Highlands. Widowed and forced to remarry in three years' time or forfeit her son's inheritance, Daisy Bristol, Lady Chatwick, has plenty of suitors vying for her hand…and her fortune. But a letter from a long-lost love sends Daisy and her young son to her Scottish Highland estate to buy time for his return. Along the way she encounters the powerful Cailean Mackenzie, laird of Arrandale and a notorious smuggler, and she is utterly—though unwillingly—bewitched. Cailean has no use for any Sassenach in his glen. But Daisy's brazen, flirtatious nature and alluring beauty intrigue him. When her first love appears unexpectedly at her estate, Cailean knows that a passionate woman like Daisy cannot marry this man. And to prevent the union, Cailean must put his own life at risk to win her heart.

Highland Groom

Highland Groom Author Hannah Howell
ISBN-10 9781497629806
Year 2014-04-29
Pages 276
Language en
Publisher Open Road Media
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Sir Diarmot MacEnroy, deciding his illegitimate children need a mother and his keep needs a proper lady, now stands before the altar with a gentle bride he hopes is too shy to disrupt his life or break his heart. The nuptials, however, are interrupted by the appearance of a flame‐haired beauty carrying two babies, boldly claiming that she is his wife and mother of his twin infant sons. Armed with her seven large brothers, she has come to demand her dues. Having waited one year for the return of the handsome laird who wed her, bedded her, then disappeared, Ilsa Campbell MacEnroy takes matters into her own hands and sets out to reclaim the man she briefly and passionately loved. Stunned by his denial, her heart softens when she learns of the injury that has ravaged his memory. Now she faces the nearly impossible task of conquering his past—and his fierce reluctance to share his heart. Though desire flares hot and wild between them, it will take more to win his trust. It will take the magic touch of a woman in love.

Thistle and Flame Her Highland Hero Scottish Historical Romance

Thistle and Flame   Her Highland Hero  Scottish Historical Romance Author Anya Karin
ISBN-10
Year
Pages
Language en
Publisher Yellow Moon Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

If hearts are meant to be together, nothing will keep them apart... When Gavin Macgregor first laid eyes Kenna Moore at festival in their Highland home, the boy fell in love with her flaming red hair, and her easy smile. Years later, Gavin works up the courage to give Kenna a thistle, and with one innocent gesture, steals her heart. And then, in the blink of an eye, Gavin is gone, swept away with the rest of the Highlanders to fight in Bonnie Prince Charlie’s war, from which he never returns. With Gavin’s thistle around her neck, Kenna finds the strength to journey south to Edinburgh, where she’s promised in marriage to Laird Ramsay Macdonald. Struggling to grow accustomed to her new life, little does Kenna know that the man who stole her heart all those years ago is waiting to do it again.

Never Seduce a Scot

Never Seduce a Scot Author Maya Banks
ISBN-10 9780345536037
Year 2012-09-25
Pages 416
Language en
Publisher Ballantine Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of romance and romantic suspense has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. Never Seduce a Scot features a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart. Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but outsiders consider her “touched.” Beautiful, fey, with a level, intent gaze, she doesn’t speak. No one, not even her family, knows that she cannot hear. Content with her life of seclusion, Eveline has taught herself to read lips and allows the outside world to view her as daft. But when an arranged marriage into a rival clan makes Graeme Montgomery her husband, Eveline accepts her duty—unprepared for the delights to come. Graeme is a rugged warrior with a voice so deep and powerful that his new bride can hear it, and hands and kisses so tender and skilled that he stirs her deepest passions. Graeme is intrigued by the mysterious Eveline, whose silent lips are ripe with temptation and whose bright, intelligent eyes can see into his soul. As intimacy deepens, he learns her secret. But when clan rivalries and dark deeds threaten the wife he has only begun to cherish, the Scottish warrior will move heaven and earth to save the woman who has awakened his heart to the beautiful song of a rare and magical love. From the Paperback edition.

An English Bride in Scotland

An English Bride in Scotland Author Lynsay Sands
ISBN-10 1410484106
Year 2015-12-09
Pages 441
Language en
Publisher
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

From New York Times bestselling author of The Husband Hunt, The Heiress, and other beloved historical romances, comes Lynsay Sands's An English Bride in Scotland, the first book in a new series set in the wilds of the Highlands. Annabel had planned to become a nun. But when her mother arrives at the Abbey to bring her home to marry a Scottish laird--her runaway sister's intended husband--her life takes a decidedly different turn. And though Annabel isn't the wife he'd planned for, strong, sexy Ross McKay is taken with his shy, sweet bride. Annabel knows nothing about being a wife, running a castle--or the marriage bed. But her handsome new husband makes her want to learn. When Annabel's life is threatened, Ross vows to move the highlands itself to save her and preserve the passion that's only beginning to bloom.

After the Golden Age

After the Golden Age Author Kenneth Hamilton
ISBN-10 0198039654
Year 2007-12-07
Pages 320
Language en
Publisher Oxford University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Kenneth Hamilton's book engagingly and lucidly dissects the oft-invoked myth of a Great Tradition, or Golden Age of Pianism. It is written both for players and for members of their audiences by a pianist who believes that scholarship and readability can go hand-in-hand. Hamilton discusses in meticulous yet lively detail the performance-style of great pianists from Liszt to Paderewski, and delves into the far-from-inevitable development of the piano recital. He entertainingly recounts how classical concerts evolved from exuberant, sometimes riotous events into the formal, funereal trotting out of predictable pieces they can be today, how an often unhistorical "respect for the score" began to replace pianists' improvisations and adaptations, and how the clinical custom arose that an audience should be seen and not heard. Pianists will find food for thought here on their repertoire and the traditions of its performance. Hamilton chronicles why pianists of the past did not always begin a piece with the first note of the score, nor end with the last. He emphasizes that anxiety over wrong notes is a relatively recent psychosis, and playing entirely from memory a relatively recent requirement. Audiences will encounter a vivid account of how drastically different are the recitals they attend compared to concerts of the past, and how their own role has diminished from noisily active participants in the concert experience to passive recipients of artistic benediction from the stage. They will discover when cowed listeners eventually stopped applauding between movements, and why they stopped talking loudly during them. The book's broad message proclaims that there is nothing divinely ordained about our own concert-practices, programming and piano-performance styles. Many aspects of the modern approach are unhistorical-some laudable, some merely ludicrous. They are also far removed from those fondly, if deceptively, remembered as constituting a Golden Age.

Meet Me In Scotland

Meet Me In Scotland Author Patience Griffin
ISBN-10 9780698145238
Year 2015-01-06
Pages 384
Language en
Publisher Penguin
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

You can run from your problems, but you can’t hide from love in the Scottish seaside town of Gandiegow.... When a video of her calling happily ever after “a foolish fantasy” goes viral, marriage therapist Emma Castle is out of a job—and off to Scotland. The tiny town of Gandiegow is the perfect place to ride out the media storm and to catch up with her childhood friend Claire. But also in Gandiegow is the one man she hoped never to see again. She’s successfully avoided Gabriel MacGregor since Claire and Dominic’s wedding, only to find he’s now the village doctor—and just as tall, dark, and devilish as ever. Claire and Dominic’s blissful marriage, however, is not what it used to be. Soon Emma and Gabriel find themselves taking sides even as the sparks begin to fly between them. Can Emma help her friends—or regain her career—as she struggles with her own happily ever after?